RSS

Injury Woes – but Sophie ready to get back on Track

17 Aug

For the majority of the 2014 outdoor season, I spent most of my time as a spectator on a spin bike. Achilles tendinopathy in my right foot caused me to finish my season at the end of May. As I wasn’t able to train or compete all summer, I was determined to make the most out of the 2015 season. However, my injury had other plans.

Getting back on track

Getting back on track

With plenty of completed bike sessions, rehab exercises, treatment and recovery, my injury started to improve. I was soon able to jog, which over time turned into steady running. After a while, I was able to complete sessions again and things were looking brighter. At university, I continued with my rehab exercises to ensure I wouldn’t have any problems and for some time, it seemed to work. For many months, I was able to train without any pain and it appeared that my injury had finally healed.

During the Easter break, I was lucky enough to go on an altitude training camp with my university to Font Romeu, France. It was a great experience running in the mountains and it benefitted my fitness greatly. I would love to go there again next year.

However, once I returned home, the problems started again. About a week before the BUCS outdoor championships, I completed a speed session. The session went well and I was happy with the way I was running, especially with a competition coming up. Unfortunately, that evening, my Achilles was sore and inflamed. I spoke to my coaches and made a joint decision to pull out of the race. I was devastated. I felt like all my progress had stepped back a whole year. I went straight back to cross-training, rehab and treatment. Along with the sore Achilles also came a tight back. Due to my constant limping, I was straining my posture. However, thanks to Sara’s hard work at Cedar Hall, she has managed to get my posture back into the correct position.

At the moment, things are looking positive! I am not back to training fully yet but I am slowly getting there which is exciting! My aim for this year is to get fit and strong, and hopefully be ready to race for the indoor season.

Blog by sponsored athlete Sophie Riches

http://www.cedarhallclinics.co.uk/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 17, 2015 in Our Athletes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
