RSS

The Hard Battle Back to the Top – an Athlete’s Tale

22 Jul

I believe athletics is much more about the mental game than it is the physical. You could be the fastest runner in the world but if you don’t believe in yourself you will not get anywhere. If you haven’t got the mental stability to be the best, it will never happen.

This is a problem which I have come across the past year or so. I lost all belief in my talent and was on the verge of giving upRobbie Clarricoats in action athletics. After long hard thoughts and talks with my parents, coach and mentors at Cedar Hall my mind set has changed again and I’m back! I haven’t competed this year due to the lack of training and self-belief but I am now back training to get in the best possible shape for next season and to make sure I am back racing with the best hurdlers in the country and hopefully the World one day.

Since starting my athletics career in 2009 I have had much success on the track. Starting in 2012 where I managed to get myself an England kit and an International medal. After this achievement the hard work started, it wasn’t just for fun anymore it was for real. Every athlete who was near the top of the rankings, including me, were all training 110% to be the best.  2013 was the season I become part of Team Cedar Hall, This season went just as planned, I medalled at the English schools and had high hopes for the oncoming season.

At the end of the 2013 season I decided to change coach, which was the best thing I could have done at this stage of my career, still young and still lots more to learn. My pre-season training went really well and I was in great shape for the 2014 season, however race after race it just wasn’t happening. My hurdling would go perfect in training and then terrible in my races. This is what affected me mentally.

Robbie at Cedar Hall

Robbie at Cedar Hall Clinic

The indoor season was best forgotten and I tried to concentrate on the outdoor season, After the few months out thinking about what I really wanted I decided I really want to become one of the best, so I got back into training. With a good mentality back going into training for the indoor season I picked up an injury which knocked me down again. Having recovered fully from my injury and now getting back into training with the right frame of mind,  I look forward to turning my athletics career back into a successful career and push on to be the athlete I aspire be. 

Without the help of Cedar Hall I would not be the person or athlete I am today and hopefully from now on there will be many successful years to come.

Blog by 110m hurdler Robbie Clarricoats – Sponsored athlete at Cedar Hall Clinics

http://www.cedarhallclinics.co.uk/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 22, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
