RSS

Track & Field – An Up and Down Struggle for Josh

21 Jun

There’s been so many ups and downs with my track and field career and it’s been both exhilarating & frustrating. But I’m still here!

Jumping Josh

Jumping Josh

I started in 2008/9 competing in the pentathlon and triple jump and managed to claim a successful year, ranking 1st in the UK for triple jump and gaining an England vest for multi-events at the age of 13/14.

The following year was relatively unsuccessful, struggling to make it to the English schools championships and just about making the semi-finals at nationals, I quickly started questioning whether athletics was for me. But,  2011 proved otherwise, ranking 1st in the UK for multi events, achieving a Gold medal at nationals for long jump, and several national medals plus the opportunity to represent England at the inter-country multi event championships which I came out on top. After such a wonderful year, I was on Cloud Nine. However that success didn’t carry on into my years as an u20 athlete

During my three years as an u20, I didn’t find much success in the sport and couldn’t find my motivation. In my final year as an u20 which was also my first year at uni, I found myself becoming distant from track and field up to the point where I contemplated quitting. After taking 2 months out from athletics, I realised that I was far from happy, so I resumed training with the long jump coach and got myself back on track.

Now I’m in my first year as an u23 and I’ve managed to claim both the Indoor and outdoor British University Championships title for long jump. Now my aim is to win Gold at the u23 nationals and achieve the standard for European u23’s. It feels good to be back on track again.

Written by Cedar Hall Sponsored athlete Joshua Olawore

http://www.cedarhallclinics.co.uk/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 21, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
